Formulating my own skincare Part 1

photo-35 As my 30th birthday approaches (next week in fact), I thought that maybe I ought to have a proper skincare regime. You may be surprised that I don’t already have one considering my love of making soap and bath products. But honestly, I didn’t know where to start on making a moisturiser for my face. I have made a simple body cream which was a tried and true recipe, and yes I think it is awesome, but I wanted something a bit more luxurious for my face. Something that may help slow down the signs of aging! So I went ahead and ordered in some oils that I have heard are AMAZING for your skin. Here is what I bought: Apricot Oil, Meadowfoam Oil, Red Rapsberry Oil, Kakadu Plum Oil, Vitamin E (natural), Sea Buckthorn Oil, Abyssinian Oil, Rosehip Oil. face oils For Part 1 of my skincare range, I formulated for myself a Day Cream. What I wanted to achieve was a lightweight, easily absorbed cream, with added luxury oils. Here is what I came up with…

  • Apricot Oil – a finely textured oil which is easily absorbed making this a great choice for the face. This is the “main” oil in my formulation.
  • Meadowfoam Oil – I have read about this oil numerous times and have always wanted to try it. Suitable for baby products and those with sensitive skin. It is meant to fight the signs of aging (fingers crossed) and great for including in lip balms, keeping your luscious lips moist for longer (I am planning to use this in my lip butters).
  • Red Raspberry Seed Oil – High in Vitamins E and A and Omega-3 and Omega-6 fatty acids. What I found most appealing about this oil is that it is meant to help protect against UV rays. Now it isn’t meant to replace a sunscreen, but I think it is an awesome additive to a day cream – and it can work in lip balms too!
  • Kakadu Plum Oil – An Australian oil with the highest vitamin C content in the world! (according to the information on my supplier’s website). It contains 3000mg of vitamin C per 100g of fruit (Oranges contain just 50mg of vitamin C per 100g fruit). It is also considered an antioxidant.
  • Natural Vitamin E – An antioxidant that is said to help smooth wrinkles and fight the signs of aging. It is also meant to be great for irritated skin.
  • Emulsifying Wax – This important ingredient is what keeps the water and oils together (emulsified). It is vegetable derived and quite easy to work with. I am especially keen to try an olive based emulsifying wax that I have recently read about which is certified organic.
  • Optiphen Plus (preservative) – All products that contain water needs a preservative to slow down or prevent fungal and microbial bacterial growth in creams (yuk!). I choose to use a paraben and formaldehyde free preservative. I am actually really keen to try Geogard Ultra which is a more natural preservative but harder to use in a formulation (and I didn’t want to stuff up my batch of all these expensive oils).

OILSThe Verdict… I am really pleased with the texture and viscosity of the cream. It is light, but not super light. You can really feel the richness of the meadowfoam and other magnificent “super” oils. I have used it for a few days now and I have noticed my skin is already softer. Coming up next… Night Cream – I am yet to make this, but I am very, very excited. Some of the oils I have planned for this one are Shea butter, Rosehip oil, Abyssinian oil and coffee extract. And later… Anti-wrinkle eye serum with Seabuckthorn Oil. gogetsoapyInformation from my favourite suppliers http://www.aussiesoapsupplies.com.au and escentialsofaustralia.com. Disclaimer: Please be aware that I am not making any claims regarding the abovementioned ingredients, they are just what I have chosen (from my own research) to include in my skincare for home use.

One thought on “Formulating my own skincare Part 1

Leave a Reply

