My Favourite Maylilly All Natural Formulations Part 1: Luxury Eye Serum

image

Hello my lovely readers. You may remember a while back I wrote a couple of posts on Formulating My Own Skincare, specifically designed for myself with anti-aging propeties in mind. I had just turned 30 and I had never really had much of a skincare regime, and quite frankly, I thought I had better start one. I had some gorgeous oils such as Sea Buckthorn oil (used in many anti-aging products) and Kakadu Plum oil (very high in Vitamin C). You can read the original posts here and here.

Just over a year on, I thought it was about time for an update and here it is. I have barely used them. Yep the jars are basically full. I don’t have a problem with how the cream feels and from time to time I do pop some on, it’s just that I am not big on moisturising creams and I am so slack at it especially on an evening (I am big on the sunscreen though because I burn oh so easily). Also I was extremely caught up adjusting to the fact I have a progressive nuerological disease (that kind of took up all of my attention) and putting cream on my face couldn’t have been further from my mind.

But what I have been using in recent weeks (and the purpose of me sharing this post) is my Luxury Eye Serum. Carefully formulated using a combination of Rosehip Oil, Abyssinian Oil, Red Raspberry Seed Oil, Kakadu Plum Oil and Seabuckthorn Oil and Vitamin E this eye serum is packed with moisturising and anti-aging goodies! Plus because the serum doesn’t contain any water there is no need for an emulsifier or (the part I’m most pleased with) a preservative (read more when you need to use preservatives in skincare here).

image

Here is a quick run down on what nourishing properties each of the oils is “said” to have:

Rosehip Oil – is easily absorbed and is high in Vitamin A. It is said to be helpful in the healing of scars and is great for sunburn, dry skin and wrinkles. It is one of “the” oils in healing salves abd balms.

Abyssinian Oil – this oil is said to assist skin to recover from daily stresses (wind, pollution etc).

Red Raspberry Seed Oil – High in Vitamins E and A and Omega-3 and Omega-6 fatty acids. What I found most appealing about this oil is that it is meant to help protect against UV rays. Now it is NOT A SUNSCREEN REPLACEMEMT, but I think it is an awesome additive to an eye serum.

Kakadu Plum Oil – An Australian oil with the highest vitamin C content in the world! (according to the information on my supplier’s website). It contains 3000mg of vitamin C per 100g of fruit (Oranges contain just 50mg of vitamin C per 100g fruit). It is also considered an antioxidant.

Seabuckthorn Oil – is high in Vitamin E and C and used in many anti-aging products. It is said to sooth irritated skin.

Natural Vitamin E – An antioxidant that is said to help smooth wrinkles and fight the signs of aging. It is also meant to be great for irritated skin.

 

image
I packaged my serum in a glass tube with a rollerball and the serum just glides on my skin. I apply it to the skin under my eyes and around the sides where the crows feet are starting to form (from lots of smiling of course). My skin is extremely fair  (translucent white even) and the skin under my eyes is very delicate and parched. I have been slathering this serum on twice a day for just a couple of weeks and I am seeing (and feeling) so much more nourished in that area. I am so pleased! The puckered dry skin towards the inner corner of my eyes is looking less…well… puckered, and the skin tone is looking more even too!

image
After seeing such positive results with the eye serum I am inspired to formulate a serum for the rest of my face.

All of the ingredients I used are available from Aussie Soap Supplies (along with many other gorgeous oils and ingredients to make your own natural skincare).

I hope I have inspired you to dive in and read up on various other oils and even experiment in formulating your own eye serum. It really is quite satisfying to create your own recipe and take your self-care to another level.

Now I would love to hear what your “go to” oils or facial products are.

Xx Vicky

2 thoughts on “My Favourite Maylilly All Natural Formulations Part 1: Luxury Eye Serum

  1. Hi Vicky! I am currently using my homemade serum with Argan oil, carrot seed oil and rose geranium. I use it at night before bed and it does seem to soften the under eye area. I might have to investigate Kakadu Plum oil, though – I like Australian ingredients!
    Cheers, Jane

    1. Hi Jane,
      Thank you for taking the time to share your go-to oils for your eye serum. Those ingredients sound amazing! I too like the idea of using Australian ingredients and I was really drawn to the Kakadu Plum Oil because of that and all the Vitamin C.

Leave a Reply

