My Favourite Maylilly All Natural Formulations Part 2: Luscious Lip Butter

Welcome to part 2 of my mini series of “My Favourite Maylilly All Natural Formulations”. This week the spotlight is on my Luscious Lip Butter. If you haven’t already read Part 1: Luxury Eye Serum, you can do so here.

I have always been prone to dry lips (which are I believe is linked to sinus related matters), and have, for as long as I can remember, used lips balms. So it was only natural that I would formulate my very own recipe with luxury oils that I know my lips will love.

image

Personally, I love a softer, almost buttery texture to my lip products (hence the title “Luscious Lip Butter”). You can adjust the firmness by experimenting with different amounts of hard oils (such as cocoa butter), or beeswax.

So what are the oils I love to use in my lip butter? I hear you ask. Here is a quick run down on what I personally use:

Almond Oil – easily absorbed, and high in Vitamins A & E.

Jojoba Esters – a natural product that may reduce dryness and flakiness. Jojoba oil resembles the skin’s natural sebum.

Meadowfoam Seed oil – may help relieve dry and cracked lips and is often used in anti-aging formulations.

Red Raspberry Seed Oil – is said to help provide some protection from the harsh sun (please note that this is not a sunscreen, nor should it be used to replace sunscreen).

Vitamin E  – an antioxidant, used in many skin products and anti-aging products.

Beeswax – gives the butter a firmer or softer consistency depending on your preferences. You can substitute beeswax for macadamia wax or cocoa butter.

If you want to have a go at formulating your own lip butters, all of these ingredients (plus many more luxe oils) can be found at one of my fave suppliers Aussie Soap Supplies.

As far as flavour goes, you can buy lip flavours (such as vanilla as featured in the photo above) or use a teeny bit of honey to sweeten it (I havent tried this so not entirely sure how much to use). I love my lip butter unflavoured.

Now over to you my dears. What is your favourite lip balm or butter, or what ingredient would you just love to see in a lip balm?

Xxx Vicky

Leave a Reply

